The Ever-Surprising Holga (Analog Ambassador)

The Holga has a way of constantly surprising me.  At first I didn’t think I liked her all that much.  I was proven wrong.  Then I didn’t think I liked her with black & white film.  Again, I have been proven wrong.

About 10 days ago I took a trip up to Boston and decided that if b&w in the Holga was ever going to stand a chance with me, it’d be in one of my favorite cities in the world on a gorgeous spring day.  So I loaded her up and wound the film in (and wound, and wound, and wound…I feel like loading/finishing a roll on the Holga takes forever just in winding the film), then set off to Central Square and the Red Line!

This gorgeous boy was hanging out in front of a bakery…

I don’t know what it is about fire trucks in cities, but I always want to photograph them.

Sitting in the T, facing the window behind me, I decided to try for a self-portrait but since I was shooting with 100 ISO in a dark metal box underground, there was nowhere near enough light.  Solution?  Set the Holga to Bulb, try to hold my arms as still as possible, and keep the shutter down for a while (wish I could tell you how many seconds…more than 1 and less than 10 is about the best I’ve got).  The blur is from me rocking back and forth slightly as the T got moving, but I think I like it.  Hooray for experiments!

 

And hooray for Old School Photo Lab!  My New England adventures included a quick jaunt to Maine after Boston, so I decided to swing through New Hampshire on the way back so I could drop off my film in person.  Jake (@jbphoto on Twitter) was kind enough to chat with me about film and show me the lab where all the magic happens.  It was nice to put real faces to digital voices, and makes me even happier to have found Old School Photo Lab for future analog development needs–like the slide film I picked up while there!

Leave a comment

Filed under Analog Ambassador

Leave a Reply

