DX Lenses on FX Body

The internet is an amazing thing. Often times a quick Google search will show you exactly what you are looking for, but when I was trying to see exactly how bad the distortion is when using DX lenses on an FX body, I didn’t get any satisfactory results. When my D700 came in, I decided it was time to do my own little test! Here are some quick, re-sized but otherwise un-edited images as well as the lens info for each. The D700 does provide a vignette control option, but I turned it off for these images.

Nikkor 35mm f/1.8:

Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6 (focal lengths left to right: 55mm, 200mm, 85mm, 122mm):

Tamron 18-50mm f/2.8 (both shot at 18mm; no lens hood on the left, lens hood on the right):

Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 (not a DX lens, but I am putting it in anyway):

Single Glass Lensbaby Composer (not a DX lens, but I am putting it in anyway):

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

